Hidden In Plain Sight – post 19

Home & Colonial Stores was one of the earliest high street chains and was founded in 1885 in London. Between 1920 and 1930 it had over 3000 stores throughout the UK and by 1955 it was the country’s 27th largest company.

I can’t find out when they opened this branch or when the building was constructed but it closed sometime in the late 1960’s/early 1970’s. but it was brought in the early 1970’s and ran as a family owned green grocers. It’s now ran by the next generation of the same family and sells a little of everything!

I think it’s a beautiful shop building and as of yet English Heritage have yet to give it a Graded listing.

Shooting Information –
Canon EOS 550D & 18-55mm kit lens, Exposure 1/15, Aperture f/14.0, ISO 200, Focal Length 18mm.

3 thoughts on “Hidden In Plain Sight – post 19

  1. Like the tone for this subject – looks great.

    Like

  2. At first I thought this was a 60-year-old photo, but reconsidered. Anyway, I like the almost vintage look of the storefront.

    Like

  3. wesele says:

    I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your information.

    This article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and keep
    checking for new information about once a week. I subscribed
    to your RSS feed too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

