Welcome to a truly hidden gem, this quaint little Hall is hidden at the back of a large social housing estate.
The southwest wing is the earliest part of the building, built in the early 17th century, the east wing was added in 1722 and there were major alterations undertaken in the 19th century which appears to incorporate a free standing 17th century kitchen block. A considerable amount of of the surrounding land was also owned by the Hall.
The earliest part was probably built by a gentleman called John Wardle. The 1722 extension was added by Joshua Toft, who was a button merchant and the Hall was owned by the Toft family until 1948 when it was sold to Leek Urban District.
The estate became the site of a development of council housing which was completed by 1953 and is named Haregate after the Hall. The Hall was divided into three dwellings by the council and was tenanted until recently but is now vacant and boarded up.
English Heritage granted the Hall a Grade II listing on 13th April 1951.
Canon EOS 550D & 18-55mm Kit Lens
Feature Image – Exposure 1/30, Aperture f/9.0, ISO 100, Focal Length 18mm
Secondary Image – Exposure 1/60, Aperture f/9.0, ISO 100, Focal Length 18mm